Providing educational resources and opportunities for all individuals involved in book and book-related publishing.

2012 Scholarship Winners Announced

PPN is pleased to announce this year’s winners in our scholarship program. A panel of four judges reviewed the entries from 45 students at three colleges (Cal Poly, Chico State, and Seattle Community College). All students presented finished book projects. The judges, Leslie Fitch (Leslie Fitch Design), Paula Schlosser (Martingale), Andrei Pasternak (RH Design Group), and Michele Bisson Savoy (CDS Publications), were extremely impressed with the quality of the designs. Twelve certificates of merit were awarded, along with $4,000 in scholarship money. Jeremy Grant took the top honor with his design of The Unbearable Lightness of Being. He was awarded $1,000. Kaela SooHoo won $750, as did Hallie Creswell. Jenny Gonzales, Danica Schroeder, and Michaela A. Tutor each received $500. Bonnie Wilcox, Alexis Jade Levy, Ashlyn Aiu, and Sean Loomis were awarded $50 apiece. Rachel Westerhoff and Lean Pyron each received $25.

Five of the students were able to attend the scholarship event in person. Certificates and checks were presented to Jeremy Grant, Hallie Creswell, Kaela SooHoo, Alexis Jade Levy, and Danica Schroeder. The patio event, hosted by Pearson/Benjamin-Cummings in San Francisco on an evening with terrific weather, was enjoyed by all.